Graduation Expectation

20130805-140608.jpg

We ask little children, “What do you want to be when you grow up.” We ask teens, “What are you going to do when you graduate?”

These question are loaded with expectation, even if we don’t recognize it. The emphasis is on logistics and commerce and says to most children/teens that they need to figure out something that we all know takes a life time. Heck, I still ask myself what I want to be when I grow up.

Knowing the pressure my teen already has from the media and outside world to become “something” makes me angry and frustrated. I want her to just be and grow and take the time threw out her whole life to nurture healthy ideology, character and in doing so, become who she is really created to be. How can we change the dialog from what one will do to who are you now and how would you like to grow?

Published by

Jana Holland

www.thehollands.org

3 thoughts on “Graduation Expectation”

  1. I’ve already started thinking of how to handle this when my yet-to-be-born children reach the age they start feeling that pressure. That pressure caused me to go to college, work towards a degree, and rack up student loan debt before I had any idea what I wanted to do when I grew up. Ultimately, I learned some things, but my attention (and money!) would have been better spent once I had a better idea of myself and what I wanted. I want my children to do it when they’re ready, when they feel a real calling towards something – not just when the state decides they’ve earned a high school diploma.

    Like

    1. I hear you sister! I encourage you to continue to question the system in place that perpetuate a society that is hosed down by stress, financial oppression and toil. My wise papa once said, “Those who define the process, control the process.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

